The Amulet by Ann Bennett

Title: The Amulet
Author: Ann Bennett
Genre: Historical Romance
Release Date: October 15, 2020





From award-winning author Ann Bennett, comes a new, heart-breaking novel set in Singapore, during World War Two.

Perfect for fans of Dinah Jeffries and Victoria Hislop.

After her mother’s death, Lara discovers a beautiful amulet amongst her belongings, engraved with the words “for Suria.”

Suspecting Suria to be the grandmother she never met, Lara travels to Singapore to find out why her mother was committed to the care of a local orphanage during World War Two.

In 1941, Suria, a poor Malay girl working in a tailor’s shop and living in a communal warehouse, is befriended by a British officer, Charles Simmonds. They start to grow close, but war threatens to engulf Singapore and tear them apart. 

While delving into her grandmother’s past, Lara is forced to confront betrayal and brutality as she learns some disturbing truths about families and friendships…



Ann Bennett was born in a small village in Northamptonshire and now lives in Surrey. Her first book, A Daughter’s Quest, originally published as Bamboo Heart, was inspired by her father’s experience as a prisoner of war on the Thai-Burma Railway. The Planter’s Wife (originally published as Bamboo Island) A Daughter’s Promise and The Homecoming, (formerly Bamboo Road) are also about WW2 in South East Asia. The Tea Planter’s Club was inspired by a recent trip to India and further research into WW2 in Burma. Ann is married with three grown up sons and works as a lawyer. For more details please visit www.bambooheart.co.uk



HOSTED BY:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.