Blog Tour

KELCIE MURPHY AND THE ACADEMY FOR THE UNBREAKABLE ARTS by Erika Lewis




Publisher : Starscape (March 1, 2022)
Language : English
Hardcover : 336 pages
ISBN-10 : 1250208262
ISBN-13 : 978-1250208262

Praise for KELCIE MURPHY AND THE ACADEMY FOR THE UNBREAKABLE ARTS

“Be prepared, it will be hard to take a break from Erika Lewis’s The Academy for the Unbreakable Arts. The action leaps off the page, rich in ancient Celtic mythology and taut with emotion, with characters who are flawed, human, and awesomely gifted. Middle-grade readers with a thirst for high adventure with all the feels, in the tradition of J. K. Rowling, Tamora Pierce, and Lloyd Alexander, have reason to rejoice.” ―Peter Lerangis, New York Times bestselling author of The Seven Wonders series

“You’ll be on the edge of your seat while reading, and while waiting for more to come in this rich and engaging world. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and the Harry Potter series.” ―Janet Fox, award-winning author of The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle

“Fast-paced and oh-so-fun, this exciting story celebrates the importance of friendship and the power of kids’ choices. I couldn’t put it down!” ―Alyssa Colman, author of The Gilded Girl

“With vivid world-building and a marvelous blend of mythology and magic, Kelcie Murphy and the Academy for the Unbreakable Arts is a rip-roaring ride pulsing with the heart of its fierce and tenacious heroine! The opening installment of this epic new fantasy series will leave readers clamoring for more.” ―Alysa Wishingrad, author of The Verdigris Pawn

“Move over Hogwarts, there’s a spellbinding new school in town. Enroll yourself for myth, mystery and magic. Not to be missed!”―Cavan Scott, New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: The Rising Storm


Brimming with Celtic mythology, action, and danger, Erika Lewis’s Kelcie Murphy and The Academy for the Unbreakable Arts introduces readers to a new kind of magical school and a warrior who must choose with which side of an epic battle her destiny will lie.

The Otherworld is at war. The Academy for the Unbreakable Arts trains warriors. And Kelcie Murphy—a foster child raised in the human world—is dying to attend.

A place at AUA means meeting Scáthach, the legendary trainer of Celtic heroes. It means learning to fight with a sword. It means harnessing her hidden powers and—most importantly—finding out who her parents are, and why they abandoned her in Boston Harbor eight years ago.

When Kelcie tests into the school, she learns that she’s a Saiga, one of the most ancient beings in the Otherworld. Secretive, shunned, and possessed of imposing elemental powers, the Saiga are also kin to the Otherworld’s most infamous traitor.

But Kelcie is a survivor, and she’ll do whatever it takes to find her parents and her place in their world. Even if that means making a few enemies.

You can purchase Kelcie Murphy and the Academy for the Unbreakable Arts at the following Retailers:
        

Photo Content from Erika Lewis

Erika Lewis grew up in Alexandria, Virginia, spent summers with her grandparents in Worcester, Massachusetts, and currently lives in Los Angeles, California. With a passion for storytelling set in magical places, she spends as much time as she can traveling. When she’s not writing, she can generally be found scribbling notes in a blank book while wandering through abandoned buildings, all kinds of museums, and graveyards.

A graduate of Vanderbilt University, her list of credits straddles the comics and novel space, including Game of Shadows from Macmillan’s Tor Books, Firebrand and Acursian from Legendary Comics, #Guardian from Awesome Media & Entertainment, and The 49th Key from Heavy Metal Publishing. The Color of Dragons is her debut YA, coming from HarperTeen October 19th, 2021, and Kelcie Murphy and The Academy for the Unbreakable Arts is her middle grade debut coming from Starscape/Macmillan March 1st, 2022.

        
WEEK ONE
JANUARY 17th MONDAY JeanBookNerd PODCAST
JANUARY 18th TUESDAY Insane About Books EXCERPT
JANUARY 19th WEDNESDAY BookHounds YA INTERVIEW
JANUARY 20th THURSDAY Casia’s Corner REVIEW
JANUARY 21st FRIDAY Movies, Shows, & Books EXCERPT
JANUARY 21st FRIDAY #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog EXCERPT

WEEK TWO
JANUARY 24th MONDAY Kait Plus Books INTERVIEW
JANUARY 25th TUESDAY The Momma Spot REVIEW
JANUARY 26th WEDNESDAY The Bookwyrm’s Den REVIEW
JANUARY 27th THURSDAY A Bronx Latina Reads REVIEW
JANUARY 28th FRIDAY Twirling Book Princess EXCERPT
JANUARY 28th FRIDAY Ya It’s Lit REVIEW

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

1

KIDNAPPED!

Pt. 3

Kelcie dropped the tip of the sword, stabbing the marble. “What are you doing here?”

Elliott was Kelcie’s assigned social services caseworker. She only heard from him for two reasons: she was moving again, or she did something wrong. It had only been a week ago that he brought her to Boston. She had a bad feeling this wasn’t another one of those visits.

He wasn’t in his usual navy-blue suit. He was dressed entirely in black, black turtleneck, black pants, as if he were going to rob a bank. All he needed was a black ski mask.

He frowned, taking the sword and returning it to the rack. “We have a serious problem and by we, I mean you.”

His spiked dark hair and thin brows lifted on the word you.

Dread weakened Kelcie’s knees. She was in trouble, but why?

How? It had only been a week! “What problem?”

The temperature felt like it dropped ten degrees as the police officer from earlier stepped into the room.

“You’re going to need to come with us,” she said. “Why?” Kelcie backed up, bumping into the shield.

The cop used two bony fingers to pull off Kelcie’s sunglasses. The fluorescents hit her like a bolt of lightning. Kelcie blinked, wincing, waiting for the explosive pain behind her eyeballs to settle down, but her nerves only made it worse. She looked up through hooded lids at the officer, finding intense black eyes glaring down at her, so dark in fact Kelcie couldn’t see pupils.

“Can I have those back, please?” Kelcie reached for them.

The cop shook her head, putting them in her pocket. “The woman who runs your new group home, a Mrs. Belts, reported her wallet and several pieces of her jewelry missing this morning.” “Mrs. Belts?” The heavy-set woman hadn’t said two words to Kelcie since she moved in. This made no sense.

Kelcie shoved

her hands in her sweatshirt pocket. “She’s wrong.”

The officer picked up Kelcie’s backpack, sliding the strap over her shoulder, like she was going to keep it. “You need to come with us.”

“Why? I didn’t take anything!” The last time something like this happened, Kelcie went willingly, was acquitted, but still ended up in juvenile hall until Blizzard could find another place for her to live. She could run. In the crowded museum, she could easily lose the cop and probably Blizzard, but if she did, Elliott would never bail her out again. He would abandon her, like her parents did. She couldn’t afford to lose him too.

Jenna and Susan bopped into the room, giggling. They so- bered when they saw Kelcie cornered.

“What do we have here?” Susan goaded. “Should I get Mr. Katz?” Jenna asked.

The cop pulled a pair of handcuffs out from her belt, send- ing Jenna and Susan bolting out of the room. Kelcie crossed her arms, hugging herself, shaking her head.

“Those won’t be necessary, Officer Grimes, will they, Kelcie?” Blizzard asked, setting a firm hand on her shoulder. “Come. Now.”

Kelcie nodded. “Okay.”

With Kelcie sandwiched between Blizzard and Officer Grimes, they went down the stairs, but turned right, heading farther into the museum

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.